John And Abigail Adams Scholarship

John and Abigail Adams Scholarship program

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship program was established by the Adams Family Charitable Trust in 2010. The scholarship is offered to recipients who demonstrate academic excellence, participate in community service and show leadership. Four recipients of the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship will be chosen annually and will receive $10,000 each. The scholarship is open to graduating high school seniors who plan on attending a four-year college or university.

John and Abigail Adams Scholarship Eligibility

John and Abigail Adams Scholarship is the official name for the John Adams Foundation Scholarship. Created in 1997 by gift from John Adams II, it provides educational opportunities for deserving students whose parents did not attend college. To qualify, students must be of African-American descent, be a United States citizen or permanent resident, demonstrate financial need through their FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) filing, and maintain a GPA of at least 3.0 on 4.0 scale.

Outside Scholarship programs

In recent years, many students have been forced to turn to outside scholarships to help pay for their college education. A report from the U.S. Department of Education found that in 2011-2012, more than 1 million undergraduate students were awarded a scholarship not administered by the college they attended. This can be attributed to a number of factors, including lack of financial aid or scholarships offered by colleges, higher tuition costs and other economic factors.

Massachusetts Scholarship

Scholarship At Boston City Federation

The Boston City Federation Scholarship is one of the oldest scholarships in America at over 100 years old. The scholarship is still available to eligible Boston residents who are pursuing a degree in business, education, engineering, law, medicine, or public administration. Regular awards are typically worth $1,000 each year for four years. However, larger awards may be awarded to students who can provide evidence of financial need.

Catherine E. Philbin Scholarship program

This scholarship has been in effect since 2008. It was established in honor of Catherine E. Philbin, who served as Dean of Women at the University of Maine in the early 1900s. The scholarships are awarded to female undergraduates in any major or department that is open to women. They are given out to five students annually with individual awards lasting up to $500 each.

Julia Ward Howe Scholarship program

Julia Ward Howe was an American abolitionist, feminist, and author. She is best known for writing the words “Battle Hymn of the Republic.” Her life-long dedication to equality led her to create a scholarship for young women with ties to Maine. The Julia Ward Howe Scholarship is awarded at Colby College annually. Past winners have come from all over the world including Nigeria, Brazil, China, Japan, Canada, France, Norway and Sweden.

Nickels for Notes Music Scholarship program

Nickels for Notes is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising money and providing supplies for the music programs of public schools. Founded by a group of parents and grandparents in 1997, this organization has raised and donated over $1 million to public schools throughout the country. The funds come from nickels collected on Nickelodeon television show, “Nick Jr.”.

Pennies for Art Scholarship program

Pennies for Art is a scholarship program that is designed to help artists and students with the cost of their art education. Awards range from $1,000 for an undergraduate student to $2,500 for a graduate student. The program was founded in 1978 by the late Albert Lawrence (Andy) Warhol and his gallerist Paul Morrissey. It was organized by Gagosian Gallery and its directors Larry Gagosian and Marc Glimcher.

Agnes M. Lindsay Scholarship

The Agnes M. Lindsay Scholarship Program is a scholarship opportunity for students who want to pursue a career in nursing. This scholarship provides three years of tuition assistance, as well as a $1,000 stipend and an annual scholarship award of $2,000. Applicants must be accepted into the nursing program at any accredited two-year or four-year institution and must maintain an A average throughout their college studies.

Leave a Reply